Department News

[October 21, 2014]

Murray Hitzman has been awarded the 2014 Daniel C. Jackling award from the Society of Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration for his outstanding achievements in mineral deposit research, his discovery of significant mineral deposits, his remarkable teaching and mentoring abilities and his leadership in professional societies related to mineral deposits.

[April 21, 2014]

Reed Maxwell cited in NSF Discoveries "Earth Week: Bark beetles change Rocky Mountain stream flows, affect water quality".


[March 8, 2014]

Congratulations to Dr. Nigel Kelly for being appointed as Fellow of the Society of Economic Geologists in recognition for his extraordinary service in the profession.


[March 3, 2014]


The CSM team of: Stephen Brennan, Jennifer Brush, Joshua Day, Rana ElGhonimy, and Spencer Rolfs, placed first  in the RMS AAPG IBA competition held last Saturday.  They completed against: Utah State, Univ of Utah, Montana State, BYU Idaho, New Mexico Tech and Univ. of Wyoming.  They will go to the Annual AAPG meeting in Houston (all expenses paid by AAPG) and compete against teams from around the world in April.


[March 3, 2014]


CSM alums Michael West, Steven Sonnenberg, and Paul Santi convening a GSA Penrose Conference: Extensional Reactivation of Thrust Faults, Coseismic Surface Rupture, and Crustal Evolution in the Eastern Basin and Range Transition Zone; 4–9 August 2014, Evanston, Wyoming, USA


[February 19, 2014]


GE faculty member Kamini Singha co-teaches a water class covered by the Denver Post.


[January 19, 2014]


Please join Yvette Kuiper ( and Chuck Kluth ( for the 3rd biennial Structural Geology and Tectonics Forum, at the Colorado School of Mines -- June 16-17, 2014, with two days of field trips and short courses before and after the meeting.  For more information


[September 15, 2013]


Two publications by Dr. M.A. Boland won the USGS Shoemaker Award for Communication Product Excellence. The Shoemaker Awards for Communication Product Excellence recognize USGS products that demonstrate extraordinary effectiveness in communicating and translating complex scientific concepts and discoveries into words and pictures that capture the interest and imagination of the American public. Click here for her publications on beryllium and nickel.


[August 5, 2013]


Dr. J. Fredrick (Rick) Sarg has been awarded the 2013 Robert R. Berg Outstanding Research Award by the AAPG.


[August 1, 2013]


Congratulations to the CSM AAPG Student Chapter for receiving the 2013 AAPG Outstanding Student Chapter Award!


[July 25, 2013]


Dr. Reed Maxwell is part of a Minnesota Public Radio program on the Mountain Pine Beetle epidemic.


[July 1, 2013]


Jeremy Boak has been appointed President of the Energy Minerals Division of AAPG.


[May 6, 2013]


Richard Wendandt was selected as the 2014/15 CSM Faculty Distinguished Senate Lecturer.

© 2017 Colorado School of Mines | | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Directories | Text Only | | rss

Last Updated: 05/17/2017 10:56:25