Faculty and Staff

Our faculty and staff set us apart.

The Department of Geology and Geological Engineering has the teaching and research faculty to train the next generation of geoscientists and geoengineers. It is our commitment to maintain solid experimental, hands-on, field-oriented, quantitative, and analytical education.

Geology Faculty

We currently have 21 Academic Faculty, 1 Teaching Faculty, 9 Research Faculty, and many active Emeritus Professors and Affiliate Faculty. You will find that we are involved in research from Alaska to southern Chile, and from California through Europe and Africa to the Far East, in addition to many projects here at home in the Rocky Mountains. We also have four staff members in the department who are happy to help.

Department Head

Wendy Bohrson

Professor and Department Head
Volcanology
bohrson@mines.edu
303-273-3066

Academic Faculty

David Benson

Professor
Hydrology
dbenson@mines.edu
303-273-3806

Wendy Bohrson

Professor and Department Head
Volcanology
bohrson@mines.edu
303-273-3066

Zhaoshan Chang

Professor and Charles F. Fogarty Endowed Chair
Economic Geology
chang@mines.edu
303-384-2127

Alexander Gysi

Assistant Professor
Lithogeochemistry
agysi@mines.edu
303-273-3828

Wendy Harrison

Professor
Aqueous Geochemistry and Geochemical Modeling
wharriso@mines.edu
303-273-3821

Yvette Kuiper

Associate Professor
Structural Geology, Field Geology, and Geochronology
ykuiper@mines.edu
303-273-3105

Reed Maxwell

Director of IGWMC
rmaxwell@mines.edu
303-384-2456

Alexei Milkov

Professor and Director of Potential Gas Agency
Petroleum Geology and Geochemistry
amilkov@mines.edu
303-273-3887

Thomas Monecke

Associate Professor and Co-Director of CMRS
Economic Geology
tmonecke@mines.edu
303-273-3841

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Associate Professor
Aqueous Geochemistry
asitchle@mines.edu
303-384-2219

Piret Plink-Björklund

Associate Professor
Stratigraphy and Sedimentology
pplink@mines.edu
303-273-2042

Richard Palin

Assistant Professor
Metamorphic Petrology
rmpalin@mines.edu
303-273-3819

Danica Roth

Assistant Professor
Geomorphology and Environmental Seismology
droth@mines.edu
303-273-3802

Paul Santi

Professor
Engineering Geology
psanti@mines.edu
303-273-3108

Christian V. Shorey

Teaching Professor
Environmental Science and Climatology
cshorey@mines.edu
303-273-3556

Kamini Singha

Professor and Ben Fryrear Endowed Chair for Innovation and Excellence
Hydrology and GeoPhysics
ksingha@mines.edu
303-273-3822

Stephen A. Sonnenberg

Professor and Charles Boettcher Distinguished Chair
Petroleum Geology
ssonnenb@mines.edu
303-384-2182

Bruce Trudgill

Associate Professor
Petroleum and Structural Geology
btrudgil@mines.edu
303-273-3883

Gabriel Walton

Assistant Professor
Engineering Geology and Underground Construction & Tunneling
gwalton@mines.edu
303-384-2235

Lesli J. Wood

Professor and Weimer Distinguished Chair
Sedimentary Geology
lwood@mines.edu
303-273-3801

Wendy Zhou

Associate Professor
Engineering Geology and GIS
wzhou@mines.edu
303-384-2181

Research Faculty

Mary Carr

Research Assistant Professor
Petroleum Geology
mcarr@mines.edu
303-273-3107

Marsha French

Research Professor
Petroleum Geology
mwfrench@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Richard Goldfarb

Research Professor
Geology and Metallogeny
goldfarb@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Nicole Hurtig

Research Assistant Professor
Program Manager for Professional Master Non-thesis Students
nhurtig@mines.edu
303-273-3930

Zane R. Jobe

Research Professor and
Director of the Chevron Center of Research Excellence (CoRE)
Sedimentary Systems
zanejobe@mines.edu
303-273-3601

Nigel Kelly

Research Assistant Professor
Applied Petrology, Geochemistry and Geochronology
nkelly@mines.edu

David Leach

Research Professor
Sedimentary Metal Ore Deposits
dleach@mines.edu
303-273-3800

Katharina Pfaff

Research Assistant Professor
Mineral Exploration
kpfaff@mines.edu
303-384-2487

J. Frederick (Rick) Sarg

Research Professor
Petroleum Geology and Stratigraphy
jsarg@mines.edu
303-273-3729

Theresa Schwartz

Research Assistant Professor
Sedimentary Geology
tschwartz@mines.edu

Richard (Ric) F. Wendlandt

Emeritus Research Professor
Geochemistry and Mineralogy
rwendlan@mines.edu
303-273-3809

Emeritus Faculty

Graham Closs

Emeritus Associate Professor
Exploration Geochemistry and Economic Geology
lcloss@mines.edu

Timothy Cross

Emeritus Associate Professor
Stratigraphy and Petroleum Geology
tcross@yahoo.com

John B. Curtis

Professor Emeritus
Petroleum Geology and Geochemistry
jbcurtis@mines.edu

Thomas ‘Trobe’ Grose

Professor Emeritus
Exploration Field Geology
tgrose@mines.edu

John D. Haun

Professor Emeritus
Stratigraphy and Petroleum Geology
jhaun@mines.edu

Jerry D. Higgins

Professor Emeritus
Engineering Geology and Geotechnics
jhiggins@mines.edu

Murray W. Hitzman

Professor Emeritus
Economic Geology
mhitzman@mines.edu

 

Gregory S. Holden

Emeritus Associate Professor
Petrology
gholden@mines.edu

Neil F. Hurley

Professor Emeritus
Petroleum Geology
nfhurley@comcast.net

Keenan Lee

Professor Emeritus
Remote Sensing, Geomorphology, Catastrophic Geology
klee@mines.edu

Eileen P. Poeter

Professor Emeritus and former director of IGWMC
Geohydrology, Inverse Modeling
epoeter@mines.edu

Samuel B. Romberger

Professor Emeritus
Aqueous Geochemistry, Economic Geology
sromberg@mines.edu

Keith A. Turner

Professor Emeritus
Engineering Geology, GIS
kturner@mines.edu

John E. Warme

Professor Emeritus
Stratigraphy, Basin Analysis
jwarme@mines.edu

Robert J. Weimer

Professor Emeritus
Stratigraphy, Petroleum Geology
rweimer@mines.edu

Staff

Dorie Chen

Department Manager
dchen1@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall 221E
303-273-3978

Kathy Emme

Research Manager
MUDTOC & Niobrara Consortia
kemme@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall 135
303-273-3854

Jae Erickson

Lab Coordinator
jaericks@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall 147
303-273-3824

Cheryl Medford

Administrative Assistant
cmedford@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall 221
303-273-3800

Jackie Randell

Research Associate
Hydrology
jrandell@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall

Susann Stolze

Research Associate
Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Palynology
sstolze@mines.edu
Berthoud Hall 226B
303-384-2128

Affiliate Faculty

DONNA S. ANDERSON

Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, Reservoir Characterization
dsanders@mymail.mines.edu

TUCKER BARRIE

Genesis Metallic Mineral Deposits, Igneous Geochemistry, Sustainable Resource Management
barriect@sympatico.ca

MIKE BOYLES

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, Reservoir Characterization
jmboyles@mines.edu

TIMOTHY COLLETT

Gas Hydrates, Geophysics, Sedimentology, Continental Margin Geology
tcollett@usgs.gov

WARREN DAY

Field Geology, Regional Tectonics, Structural Geology, Petrology, Economic Geology
wday@usgs.gov

GEOFFREY ELLIS

Organic Geochemistry, Stable Isotope Geochemistry Sedimentary Basin Geology
gsellis@usgs.gov

POUL EMSBO

Economic Geology, Regional Tectonics, Geochemistry
pemsbo@usgs.gov

DAVID GOCHIS

Hydrometeorology
gochis@ucar.edu

V.J.S. (‘TIEN’) GRAUCH

Mid-continental Rift and Lake Superior Region Geology, Geophysics, Mineral Exploration
tien@usgs.gov

SETH HAINES

Seismic Surveys to Gas Hydrate, Mineral exploration
shaines@usgs.gov

THOMAS HEARON

Structural Geology
thomashearon@gmail.com

ALBERT HOFSTRA

Economic Geology, Noble Gas Geochemistry, Regional Tectonics
ahofstra@usgs.gov

KAREN KELLEY

Exploration Geochemistry
kdkelley@mines.edu

PHILLIP S. ‘FLIP’ KOCH

Rock Mechanics, Structural Analysis, Economic Development
pskoch@mines.edu

MATTHEW LATO

Geohazard Risk Assessment, Landslide Characterization
www.bgcengineering.ca

JEFFREY MAUK

Economic Geology, Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Environmental Impacts of Mining
jmauk@usgs.gov

JEFFREY MAY

Sequence Stratigraphy, Siliciclastic, Mudrock Sedimentology
jmay@mines.edu

LAWRENCE D. MEINERT

Economic Geology, Magmatic-Hydrothermal Processes, Mineralogy, Skarn Deposits, Space Resources, Scientific Publishing
LDmeinert@gmail.com

BEN MIRUS

Landslides, Hydrology
bbmirus@usgs.gov

CLYDE MOORE

Carbonates, Geochemistry, Sedimentology, Stratigraphy of Carbonates
chmoore@mines.edu

LEAH MORGAN

Ar/Ar Dating, Economic Geology Applications
lemorgan@usgs.gov

WILLIAM RIDLEY

Isotope/Trace Element Geochemistry, Petrology, Economic Geology
wridley@usgs.gov

KEITH SHANLEY

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, Petrophysics, Reservoir Characterization
keith.shanley@anadarko.com

DAVID WOOD

Structural Geology, Mineral System Mapping, Geometallurgy
davidwood@mines.edu