About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Geology and Geological Engineering at Colorado School of Mines is: 

To discover and disseminate knowledge for society through compelling research, excellence in teaching and engaging outreach by creating a welcoming and vibrant community that cultivates critical thinking, intellectual curiosity, and integrity.

Vision Statement

Our departmental vision is: 

To be a game-changer in discovery, understanding and education in geoscience to intelligently engineer Earth’s resources.

 

Although our department values are still under discussion and debate by the faculty, we have established the following basic aspirational and demonstrated values:

Experience:  We deliver a unique educational experience in the classroom, laboratory and the field.  

Discovery:  We encourage creativity and celebrate insights in research.   

Excellence:  We expect rigor and diligence in our work, honesty and accountability in our actions, and we embrace professional growth.   

Compassion:  We treat others with respect, seek out diverse thought and support each other’s willingness to take risks. 

Enthusiasm:  We foster a positive friendly atmosphere, and lead with optimism.   

Teamwork:  We work together and collaborate to achieve results that we cannot accomplish individually.

Diversity, Inclusion and Access (DIA)

Diversity, Inclusion and Access are critical components of a healthy, thriving department and we are committed to this effort. The Department of Geology and Geological Engineering (GGE) is a community that welcomes and supports diversity in all of its forms, and we strive to foster an inclusive environment that respects different ways of thinking and being. We are also invested in enhancing access to the curricular and co—curricular opportunities that are offered in GGE.

Geology and Geological Engineering LinkedIn Page

External Sources for Student Funds

Geology and Geological Engineering Student Organizations

AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)

President:

Chris Matson

matson@mines.edu

Vice President:

Alex Branda

abranda@mines.edu

Secretary:

Graham McClave gmcclave@mines.edu

Treasurer:

Selena Neale

skneale@mines.edu

Advisor: Steve Sonnenberg

 

 

 

AEG (Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists)

President:

Artyom Silaev

asilaev@mines.edu

Vice President:

Hayden Jacobson

jacobson@mines.edu

Treasurer:

Lauren Miller

laurenmiller@mines.edu

Event Coordinator:

Adam Malsam

amalsam@mines.edu

Volunteer Coordinator:

Ashton Killen

ashtonkillen@mines.edu

Web Master:

Cassidy Grady

clgrady@mines.edu

Logistics Officer:

Colby Butcher

bradfordbutcher@mines.edu

Advisor: Paul Santi

   
     

 

SEG (Society of Economic Geologists)

President:

Lauren Zeeck

lzeeck@mines.edu

Vice President:

Anne Fulton

annefulton@mines.edu

Secretary:

Joshua Ebner

jebner@mines.edu

Treasurer:

Caleb Chappell

jcchappell@mines.edu

Social Secretary:

Isaac Simon

isaacsimon@mines.edu

Advisor: Zhaoshan Chang

 

 

 

The Department at a Glance

U.S. News & World Report ranking out of 118

Research Faculty members

$2M

Annual Research Awards Funding for 2017

Academic and Teaching Faculty

Graduate Students

Undergraduate Students

  • Four large research centers
  • Cutting-edge laboratory infrastructure
  • Geological engineering program accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • High placement rates in industry, academia and government
  • Loyal and generous alumni and supporters
  • Collaborations with research institutes and universities worldwide
  • Research partnerships with the U.S. Geological Survey and Colorado Geological Survey
  • One of the best geology museums in the country
  • The most comprehensive ore deposits collection in any U.S. educational institution
  • Geology trail on campus (BOB WEIMER TRAIL), including a National Park Service designated fossil area