About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Geology and Geological Engineering at Colorado School of Mines is: 

To discover and disseminate knowledge for society through compelling research, excellence in teaching and engaging outreach by creating a welcoming and vibrant community that cultivates critical thinking, intellectual curiosity, and integrity.

Vision Statement

Our departmental vision is: 

To be a game-changer in discovery, understanding and education in geoscience to intelligently engineer Earth’s resources.

 

Although our department values are still under discussion and debate by the faculty, we have established the following basic aspirational and demonstrated values:

Experience:  We deliver a unique educational experience in the classroom, laboratory and the field.  

Discovery:  We encourage creativity and celebrate insights in research.   

Excellence:  We expect rigor and diligence in our work, honesty and accountability in our actions, and we embrace professional growth.   

Compassion:  We treat others with respect, seek out diverse thought and support each other’s willingness to take risks. 

Enthusiasm:  We foster a positive friendly atmosphere, and lead with optimism.   

Teamwork:  We work together and collaborate to achieve results that we cannot accomplish individually.

Geology and Geological Engineering 2018 Newsletter

External Sources for Student Funds

Geology and Geological Engineering Student Organizations

AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists)

President:

Vicky Yeap

syeap@mymail.mines.edu

Vice President:

Corey Milar

cmilar@mymaillmines.edu

Secretary:

Courtney Bone

cbone@mymail.mines.edu

Treasurer:

Alden Griffin

aldengriffin@mymail.mines.edu

Advisor: Steve Sonnenberg

 

 

 

AEG (Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists)

President:

Brian Gray

bgray@mymail.mines.edu

Vice President:

Jacob Jones

Jjjones1@mymaillmines.edu

Secretary:

Brooke Eberle

baeberle@mymail.mines.edu

Treasurer:

Thomas Busath

wbusath@mymail.mines.edu

Event Coordinator:

Matt Kelly

kelly@mymail.mines.edu

 

Bradly Palmer

bpalmer1@mymail.mines.edu

Volunteer Coordinator:

Clara Bewley

cjbewley@mymail.mines.edu

Web Master:

Matt Tello

mtello@mymail.mines.edu

Advisor: Paul Santi

 

 

 

SEG (Society of Economic Geologists)

President:

Erik Tharalson

etharalson@mymail.mines.edu

Vice President:

Garrett Gissler

gdgissler@mymaillmines.edu

Secretary:

Miranda Lehman

mlehman@mymail.mines.edu

Treasurer:

Kairan Liu

kairanliu@mymail.mines.edu

Social Secretary:

Josh Ebner

jebner@mymail.mines.edu

Advisor: Zhaoshan Chang

 

 

 

The Department at a Glance

U.S. News & World Report ranking out of 118

Research Faculty members

$2M

Annual Research Awards Funding for 2017

Academic and Teaching Faculty

Graduate Students

Undergraduate Students

  • Three large research centers
  • Cutting-edge laboratory infrastructure
  • Geological engineering program accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
  • High placement rates in industry, academia and government
  • Loyal and generous alumni and supporters
  • Collaborations with research institutes and universities worldwide
  • Research partnerships with the U.S. Geological Survey and Colorado Geological Survey
  • One of the best geology museums in the country
  • The most comprehensive ore deposits collection in any U.S. educational institution
  • Geology trail on campus (BOB WEIMER TRAIL), including a National Park Service designated fossil area